Outlook asks to save when closing appointments without any change

Anonymous
2023-01-02T08:14:20+00:00

When I open any appointment in outlook Calendar I have to save it before closing if I have locked my PC in between. Even If I did not change anything (applies to any invite also empty freshly created ones and also applies when outlook is started in safe mode + also applies on different PC / different account)

[![](https://learn-attachment.microsoft.com/api/attachments/20b86f9d-1cc2-4011-8f4d-a64e9f945f58?platform=QnASteps to reproduce:

  1. Open Outlook calendar, and open any appointment
  2. Put laptop to lock mode (windows key + L)
  3. Log in again
  4. Click the 'X' icon to close the appointment
  5. Outlook will pop up an alert box "Want to save your changes? Yes | No | Cancel " and the user has to select something.](https://learn-attachment.microsoft.com/api/attachments/20b86f9d-1cc2-4011-8f4d-a64e9f945f58?platform=QnA&fud_access=wJJIheezUklbAN2ppeDns8cDNpYs3nCYjgitr%2bfFBh2dqlqMuW7np3F6Utp%2fKMltnRRYFtVjOMO5tpbpW9UyRAwvLeec5emAPixgq9ta07Dgnp2aq5eJbnfd%2fU3qhn54gvgJwJvybOaDZLdxxWbmUU55lRVcs%2b2rsZqD5C%2f2ugIy6sqE3bmcGNiEPEvYKI16fklw5WYaFGrnASySzjzYPBMvt%2bVOvAQMf93S5Ko5apovha8xkf2t4FEpnnplUjx6vzNpK1AJ%2bm5J3PVtyfBv2Ngxo%2bKQEU%2b1bEbIrW6CGfvnpbcta1O6MDU7%2b9Ea77rcFd7uju0GTB3L41UvMQuArmQC6FPPSvSN6qLyVexBhQGTMqZUIG5uwLawp5kn016qCxHiiHVoGPOhOPlZjc2pXoVl6o5NdZl4BiPgXi2mF4g%3d "filestore.community.support.microsoft.com")

Disabling the weather information, scaling equal, new profile did not help for me, any idea how to solve this?

NOTE: There is still no solution / fix for this issue

Outlook | Windows | Classic Outlook for Windows | For home

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

86 answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2025-05-30T12:30:15+00:00

    Amen. This is very disruptive, especially in busy offices with multiple complex schedules, because you don't want to not save a change that was made on purpose before multiple interruptions, and you don't want to save a change made in error for the same reason, but the "event" might have been open for quite some time, making it difficult or impossible to know. Collectively we who use Outlook this way pay untold millions of dollars to do so, and yet this most basic function -- alerting you to save or delete changes when in fact none nearly all the time were made -- isn't fixed? Can't anyone figure this out? Maybe a summer intern assigned to the project? Come on, Microsoft.

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2025-03-20T14:54:42+00:00

    I experience kind of the same problem, but my problem is not related to locking the screen. It happens when I open existing meetings without changing anything.

    Steps to reproduce:

    1. Open any meeting.
    2. Press "Scheduling Assistant" pane (...without doing anything else).
    3. Press (X) / close calender window.
    4. No changes was made, but dialogue box asks if you want to save changes. However, this doesn't seem to happen on all meetings. It seems to primarily occur when a ressource/room is attached to the meeting.

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2024-10-25T12:32:33+00:00

    I don't even click on any link. I usually join the meetings directly from Teams.

    Something happens in the background that triggers a condition for MS Outlook to ask if we want to save.

    Microsoft, please fix ASAP.

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2024-10-18T15:34:45+00:00

    How are you supposed to get into the meeting without clicking the link to it? (in re: to your response, "When you click on a link (e.g. to open a Zoom or Webex link) you have clicked into the body of the meeting causing the application goes into Edit mode. Once it's been in edit mode, it cannot be closed until you save or discard changes.".)

    It's so irritating and tedious.. especially when one has 10 meeting a day all week and then must close out all ten individually to say, 'no, no changes to save' because I just clicked on the link to go the meeting!

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  5. Anonymous
    2024-10-15T13:46:48+00:00

    Just adding my name to the list of Super Frustrated people that have this problem

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments