New Teams - How do you remove users from the "Pick an account" / Login screen?

Anonymous
2023-12-01T12:57:48+00:00

While testing "New Teams" I have noticed that the "Pick an account" / Login screen shows the previous users that have logged in, even if they have clicked "sign out".

When clicking on those users, it also logs them in without asking for a password.

After reading other posts here, I have tried deleting the cache here: %LocalAppData%\Packages\MSTeams_8wekyb3d8bbwe

And also deleting the data in this folder: %LocalAppData%\Packages\Microsoft.AAD.BrokerPlugin_cw5n1h2txyewy

Doing this has stopped the accounts from being logged in without a password, but the accounts still appear on the "Pick an account" / Login screen.

They do not show in classic teams or any other application and there are no additional accounts in the "Access Work and School" windows setting page.

I have also tried to fully remove and reinstall Teams but the accounts are still visible.

Does anyone have a solution for this?

Thanks

EDIT:

I have found a possible solution:

Delete:
%LocalAppData%\Packages\MSTeams_8wekyb3d8bbwe
%LocalAppData%\Packages\Microsoft.AAD.BrokerPlugin_cw5n1h2txyewy
%LocalAppData%\Microsoft\OneAuth
%LocalAppData%\Microsoft\TokenBroker
%LocalAppData%\Microsoft\IdentityCache

Then restart the PC.

This will sign out all Microsoft products but does remove the users from the login list and removed their login details, meaning a password is required to login to Teams.

Microsoft Teams | Microsoft Teams for education | Sign up and Sign in | Switch between accounts

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

99 answers

Sort by: Newest
  1. Anonymous
    2024-03-11T17:34:08+00:00

    Oh, good. If I ever knew about that, I had completely forgotten about it.

    When I looked it up, I was disappointed by Microsoft starting its description of it like this:

    "You can prevent your domain joined device from being Microsoft Entra registered by adding the following registry value..."

    Fortunately, however, that's misleading. It works on mere workgroup PCs, too. I think they probably phrased it like that because it's a common use case where those on a domain might not want to join anything further.

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2024-03-11T14:14:32+00:00

    Hey thanks, Martin! That's awesome. That screen is confusing and annoying and I'd love not to see it!

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2024-03-11T14:13:03+00:00

    I always click "Sign in to this app only"

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2024-03-11T09:32:47+00:00

    That's easy to achieve with regedit, under

    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\WorkplaceJoin
    

    add the the following:

    DWORD: BlockAADWorkplaceJoin
    Value: 1
    

    Was this answer helpful?

    4 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  5. Anonymous
    2024-03-09T00:37:14+00:00

    It's better if it does forget, of course, but even if it does that's not the ballgame because most people forget to sign out in the first place. This is why we're looking for a feature in which logins require a password every time regardless. It would be nice if usernames could be forgotten too, but that's much less critical.

    I'd also like a way where users never see this screen and instead just log straight in (the equivalent of clicking the blue link at the bottom, which few notice). I'm not aware of a way to do that, however.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments