New Teams - How do you remove users from the "Pick an account" / Login screen?

Anonymous
2023-12-01T12:57:48+00:00

While testing "New Teams" I have noticed that the "Pick an account" / Login screen shows the previous users that have logged in, even if they have clicked "sign out".

When clicking on those users, it also logs them in without asking for a password.

After reading other posts here, I have tried deleting the cache here: %LocalAppData%\Packages\MSTeams_8wekyb3d8bbwe

And also deleting the data in this folder: %LocalAppData%\Packages\Microsoft.AAD.BrokerPlugin_cw5n1h2txyewy

Doing this has stopped the accounts from being logged in without a password, but the accounts still appear on the "Pick an account" / Login screen.

They do not show in classic teams or any other application and there are no additional accounts in the "Access Work and School" windows setting page.

I have also tried to fully remove and reinstall Teams but the accounts are still visible.

Does anyone have a solution for this?

Thanks

EDIT:

I have found a possible solution:

Delete:
%LocalAppData%\Packages\MSTeams_8wekyb3d8bbwe
%LocalAppData%\Packages\Microsoft.AAD.BrokerPlugin_cw5n1h2txyewy
%LocalAppData%\Microsoft\OneAuth
%LocalAppData%\Microsoft\TokenBroker
%LocalAppData%\Microsoft\IdentityCache

Then restart the PC.

This will sign out all Microsoft products but does remove the users from the login list and removed their login details, meaning a password is required to login to Teams.

Microsoft Teams | Microsoft Teams for education | Sign up and Sign in | Switch between accounts

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

99 answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2025-03-17T19:21:40+00:00

    How do I fix the issue on Macbook Pro?

    Was this answer helpful?

    4 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2024-05-29T19:21:48+00:00

    Hi,

    No need to delete all the folders.

    1. Check if process ms-teams.exe is still running and kill it.
    2. Rename %LocalAppData%\Microsoft\OneAuth\accounts or remove the content.
    3. Start Teams, the primary account will automatically be recreated.

    Cheers,

    This worked for me.

    I confirmed I the accounts were not connected in the windows settings - accounts page and removed Teams items from the Windows Credentials Manager.

    Then I followed Kris' steps, and the accounts were removed, the only account that came back was the account signed into the computer.

    THIS WORKED, NOTHING ELSE DID! delete accounts from Credentials Manager first. Then try to rename %LocalAppData%\Microsoft\OneAuth\ to OneAuth-.

    Stupid Indian programmers... WE NEED REMOVE ACCOUNT OPTION FROM NEW TEAMS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DEV LOG THIS!

    Was this answer helpful?

    4 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2024-03-11T09:32:47+00:00

    That's easy to achieve with regedit, under

    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\WorkplaceJoin
    

    add the the following:

    DWORD: BlockAADWorkplaceJoin
    Value: 1
    

    Was this answer helpful?

    4 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2024-09-04T19:48:19+00:00

    This is the one that worked for me. Thanks

    Was this answer helpful?

    3 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  5. Anonymous
    2024-01-05T18:24:29+00:00

    Hi,

    No need to delete all the folders.

    1. Check if process ms-teams.exe is still running and kill it.
    2. Rename %LocalAppData%\Microsoft\OneAuth\accounts or remove the content.
    3. Start Teams, the primary account will automatically be recreated.

    Cheers,

    This worked for me.

    I confirmed I the accounts were not connected in the windows settings - accounts page and removed Teams items from the Windows Credentials Manager.

    Then I followed Kris' steps, and the accounts were removed, the only account that came back was the account signed into the computer.

    Was this answer helpful?

    3 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments