replacing close/min/max buttons when screen sharing on macos?

Anonymous
2024-09-20T19:16:59+00:00

why does teams now replace the normal close / min / max buttons on macos:

with:

when sharing your desktop (or window).

this is the same icon that is shown in the notification bar when screen sharing, but annoyingly replaces the window chrome... and teams is the only application to do this.

OBS studio (which records / captures the desktop) does not do this.

Zoom does not do this...

only microsoft.

why?

please remove this annoyance.

Microsoft Teams | Microsoft Teams for business | Teams for Mac

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

60 answers

Sort by: Newest
  1. Anonymous
    2024-12-04T16:05:24+00:00

    I am having the same problem in an important meeting with a client!

    I got nervous because I didn't know how to close the damn window when I was showing him images one by one from a folder.

    DEAR MICROSOFT, STOP CHANGING THINGS AND GET FIRED THE PEOPLE THAT ARE DOING THIS RIDICULOUS UPDATES. OH MY F GOOOD...

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2024-12-03T09:26:29+00:00

    Did you post this to the feedback forum for MS Teams already? https://feedbackportal.microsoft.com/feedback/forum/ad198462-1c1c-ec11-b6e7-0022481f8472

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2024-11-27T11:26:02+00:00

    The interesting part is, this must be an API offered by Apple, otherwise they would not have allowed to ru the app at all.

    Or did they use private APIs to achieve this but Apple did not notice, because they did not try out screensharing?

    Wouldn't be the first time, someone slips through such a functionality.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2024-11-27T10:03:02+00:00

    How can such a feature be approved? You are completely destroying the window management of macOS during screen sharing. It is completely out of your responsibility to integrate on that level without the permission of the user, in my opinion. Hopefully, Apple will react to this and block this malicious activity in the future.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  5. Anonymous
    2024-11-25T16:18:55+00:00

    On the other hand... accidentally closing the window you're sharing during a meeting could be very embarrassing, so I can see how that extra step wold be useful.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments