Why? This was a feature I used all of the time. Considering the billions of other features, this was actually practical. In stead of removing it, why couldn't they simply disable the feature by default and still allow people to enable it.
I'm confounded with some of the changes with Win 11. Bad design is when you remove features or make changes for the sake of making changes, or making changes based on the intuition of a small team, or worse, the opinion of one person. Did they take a poll on this one?
It flies in the face of logic. It makes moving around to different folders quick and efficient. Now what? What's the alternative? I think Microsoft needs to provide users with an alternative when it removes something. I'd love to know what's my alternative. How much time to have to waste now trying figure that out. I actually have work to do. I don't want to spend my days and nights, relearning things that were already well designed.
Not happy. This is a dumb decision.