oh ok. As Diane outlined below, the "smart sync" is for Dropbox files. That is the issue I was having. I opted to bring some of my files to "local" and brown box went away. Others that are used less frequently I left as "online only" ... so those still have the brown box letting me know that they are effectively just "shortcuts".
Cindy