Thankyou for your patience neilpzz. I shall be absent for the next week but I would like to continue to try to identify my problem after that if you will wait.
As to your last message:
I did a system restore and so am now backto how things were, the new account I created is deleted and I have a local account in my name only with no password.
I accessed the recovery environment and selected Command Prompt,
Only Administrator was offered for selection - I don't have a password so I just 'coninued'!
I entered net user administrator/active:yes - return was
Synrtax
NET USER
(username [password |* ][ options ]] [ /DOMAIN]
username {password|\*} /Add [options][/DOMAIN ]
username [ /DELETE ] [/DOMAIN ]
username [ /TIMES : { times |ALL]]
username [/ ACTIVE : [YES|NO}]
If you'll explain what that means I'll be interested.
I have a question:
One of the previous options was 'Reset this PC' and 'keep my files' or 'don't keep files'. As you say it's a 'RESET' and not a 'Restore'. so what files are kept?
As you'll have guessed, I am a PC user and not a Software Programmer which makes things difficult I know.
Thanks.