Updated to 1903 but 'user'.000 now created and holds all my user files

Anonymous
2019-07-06T13:04:34+00:00

Hi, as per the title. All my pre-update User files are now in a folder with ".000" added to the name. I've already run into problems with programs using the non .000 path e.g. Dropbox. Is there an easy fix for this?

Windows for home | Windows 10 | Files, folders, and storage

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

49 answers

Sort by: Newest
  1. Anonymous
    2019-07-06T20:38:32+00:00

    Hi Arch

    Click your Start Button, then just type cmd and hit Enter

    In the resulting Command Prompt window, run this command and hit Enter:

    whoami

    What exactly is returned form that command

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2019-07-06T20:33:46+00:00

    Dave, I see you've posted elsewhere many times since my reply above: any chance you might want to come back and follow up on my new queries. Your solution did not work.

    Alternatively, can someone else follow up on my new questions? or is this just a copy and paste exercise to gaining points quickly?

    We clearly have a problem with how 1903 is installing. We don't wan't folks User folder getting deleted through update 'issues', once again.

    Thank you.

    Was this answer helpful?

    1 person found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2019-07-06T13:59:05+00:00

    Thanks Dave, really appreciate the speedy help.

    I've re-started 4 times and unfortunately all my old user files are still in the .000 folder. My old(normal) folder - containing nothing but "WPR_initiated_WprApp_WPR Internal Heap Collector.etl" inside Appdata/Local/Temp - is right next to the .000 folder. You mention that I'm likely logged in as a temporary profile.  Start Manager/Users appears to show me logged in as my normal user name, though my normal Desktop user icon/link takes me straight to the new .000 folder when I double click it. Is there any other way to confirm if I'm logged in as a temp profile, or not? maybe it doesn't matter at this stage?

    I appreciate the .000 folder is in scope for being deleted by the system (eventually), but, can I not simply copy all my old files in the .000 folder and drop them into my normal/non-.000 folder, after all the path to this non-.000 folder is what's required by these programs depending on it. Of course, I'm assuming my normal/old/non-.000 folder is not in scope for deletion?

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2019-07-06T13:12:31+00:00

    Hi ArchStant, most likely you are logged into a temporary profile, because that update failed to remove the temp profile used for the update and restore your user profile . .

    Before you do anything or move any files around

    Restart (not shut down) your PC 3 or 4 times, this will fix this issue a lot of the time, because it will prompt Windows to restore your default profile . ..

    Otherwise:

    Please open Windows File Explorer

    Navigate to C:\Users

    Do you see two user folders that look like yours?

    Open those folders and check inside Pictures, Documents . . . etc. and see if your files are there

    If your files are there:

    Create a new user profile with Admin privileges

    Log into the new user profile

    Copy all your data from the old profile to the new profile (Documents Library, Pictures Library . . . etc.)

    If you still have not found your files, look for a Windows.old folder on your C Drive, expand that to open the users folder contained inside - check there for your files, icons . . .etc.

    If you do find your files . . . etc. there, copy them out as soon as possible as Windows will remove the Windows.old folder in time

    NOTE VERY IMPORTANT: Do Not copy your files into the Temporary profile you are currently in, when the situation is corrected, your files will be deleted with the Temporary Profile and will not be recoverable !!

    Was this answer helpful?

    2 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments