The only way that the Upgrade could delete all of anyone's files would be if they downloaded it as a "clean install" instead of just allowing the Upgrade to proceed normally.
That would be (rightly) considered "user error" and is not Microsoft's responsibility.
The Upgrade/Update does not delete files.
Period.
This is not right. I did the update via the automatic update process and all of my photos in the pictures folder are gone.