So some more bewildering feedback for MSFT -- although something tells me their silence is a key indicator they are conveniently ignoring and hoping this mess quickly becomes yesterday's news...
As I reported earlier, wiht my folder redirection in play a non-profile (special) folder called "Desktop" had all its contents deleted after upgrading to 1809. Yes, I had a backup, so a quick copy from my imaged drive had me running for almost a week on
1809 in all it's spendor :-|
Low and behold, I just discovered my SIP softphone (off of my Corporate Genesys platform) no longer functions on v1809 (there are .NET dependencies so guessing that's broken (again) wiht this new build -- similar to the Fall Creator build of 2017. Build
1803 had this working fine so after some testing in the lab, sure enough, 1809 fails, but roll an upgraded PC back to 1803 and all is well with the SIP softphone.
Here's where it gets interesting... When I upgraded, I lost all files in my C:\users\rcurtis\desktop folder -- again, not my 'real' desktop and not profile based, nor is it a 'special folder', just a folder I created and called it "Desktop". After I rolled
back to 1803, low and behold, what was there under 1809 is, again, gone. Understandable since there was no such files in windows.old, but again, why is MSFT touching personal files -- shame on you MS!!
Bewildering indeed, can you clarify exactly what happened though? I want to see if I'm understanding the process correctly.
First, you updated to 1809, and it deleted your files, but you restored from a backup and all was as it should be. I'm assuming all files were placed back into their original location in your custom "Desktop" folder.
Second, you discovered that 1809 was incompatible with your SIP softphone, and rolled back to 1803 to restore that functionality. You're saying that the restoration repeated the deletion, and the same files you'd restored after the original 1809 update
were gone again?
One thing I don't understand though.. you say your "C:\users\rcurtis\desktop" folder is not your "real" desktop, and not profile based. But isn't that the default location for the profile-based desktop? I understand if you're changing specific names for
privacy reasons, but it makes your situation hard to understand.
What I'm really curious about though is what would happen if you had not specifically named that folder "Desktop," or if you had kept that name, but placed it elsewhere on the hard drive, say nested in a program folder. I'm curious how deeply whatever action
is targeting personal files for deletion is digging, and whether it would go after
any folder named "Desktop," regardless of where it was stored.
The fact that the same specific deletion action occurred both on the installation and reversal though is baffling, and makes me wonder if a step has been added to any update/restore actions that automatically attempts to do a disk cleanup.