That is true, except, I too believe, for what Craig said about the "Auto Save tab, Update Folders button"...
If you stop protecting them, they will become computer resident only. The folders will move out of the OneDrive folder, I think, & up a level into the User folder probably. But you may also need to go online & delete the folders there - afterwards. Chances are, if you delete them at the site first, they disappear on the computer too. But likely they end up in the Recycle Bin at the site.
Edit 10/29: Turning off Protection does not move the files currently on OneDrive. It just sets new files to go to the old (unprotected) location they came from. That's in C:\Users<Username><Foldername>. One must move the existing files/folders oneself, if desired; then, they also end up in the online RecycleBin. Sheesh.
<br><br>Online-only files
<br><br>Locally available files
<br><br>Always available files