Windows 10 re-opens all programs after shutdown / restart?

Anonymous
2017-11-08T14:28:13+00:00

Running Windows 10 Pro, v1790, build 16299.19

After a recent Windows update my computer now re-opens all programs I had open prior to restarting.

I've seen some registry hacks and workarounds on the internet but I just want the option to turn this off natively within Windows without workarounds.

How do I do this?

Windows for home | Windows 10 | Settings

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

71 answers

Sort by: Newest
  1. Anonymous
    2017-11-08T18:37:17+00:00

    What you should do is close all your programs before shutting down. Its similar to a functionality on macOS users have been asking for years on Windows. Its considered handy especially when Windows 10 restarts after an update and you want to pick up from where you left off. If you don't like it, then you will have to go with Gregs work around or downgrade to an older version.

    Was this answer helpful?

    10+ people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2017-11-08T16:31:27+00:00

    Thanks for the workaround Greg.

    As I noted in my post, I don't want to use shortcuts, workarounds or hacks. I'd like to be able to click Start > Shutdown and have it behave the same way it did before the update. It's extremely frustrating a change has been forced out without anyway to disable it.

    Was this answer helpful?

    50+ people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Greg Carmack 24,780 Reputation points Volunteer Moderator
    2017-11-08T16:21:32+00:00

    Hi Tom. I'm Greg, a volunteer and 8 year WIndows MVP here to help you.

    The best solutions to day that I find for this unwanted new features is here: https://winaero.com/blog/disable-apps-auto-reop...

    I already have Shutdown and Restart shortcuts on my desktop so I was able to reference the linked tutorial in blog post to edit the commands to avoid this annoyance.

    I hope this helps. Feel free to ask back any questions and let us know how it goes. I will keep working with you until it's resolved.

    Was this answer helpful?

    10+ people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2017-11-08T14:48:48+00:00

    This is a new feature, though there is a known bug in this feature and Microsoft say they are working in it

    For the moment, to stop this happening:

    Go to Settings - Accounts - Sign-in

    Go to Privacy and turn this option off 'Use my sign info to automatically finish setting up'

    This does not fix the issue or change the behavior.

    Was this answer helpful?

    20+ people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  5. DaveM121 933.1K Reputation points Independent Advisor
    2017-11-08T14:45:19+00:00

    This is a new feature, though there is a known bug in this feature and Microsoft say they are working in it

    For the moment, to stop this happening:

    Go to Settings - Accounts - Sign-in

    Go to Privacy and turn this option off 'Use my sign info to automatically finish setting up'

    Was this answer helpful?

    80+ people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments