I have experienced this twice. Each time Google Chrome was open on the desktop and executing Shutdown from start menu closed everything, else. If Chrome is shutdown, then my PC (Windows 10) also shuts down.
Windows 10 - Shutdown, but user stays logged in
When I shutdown Windows 10, (latest version, fully patched up to date 25-Oct-2017), I find that it shuts down without issue. However, when the PC is restarted, the last logged in user (who initiated the shut down) is still logged in.
I noticed this when I shutdown as User 1, then restarted the PC and logged in as User 2. When viewing the 'profiles' button at the top of the Start Menu, (which shows your user picture), it showed me that User 1 was still logged in. Furthermore, when I went to shut the computer down as User 2, it warned me that other users were logged in to this computer. I had to log out as User 2 and login as User 1 to shut down the computer.
The only way around this is to log out and then shut the PC down from the main login screen. All my users have complex passwords assigned and in all other aspects Windows 10 appears to be working correctly.
I assume this is a feature, but is there a switch or a registry hack that allows the shut down process to log off the current user, like Windows 7 used to?
Please can someone advise?
Many thanks
Paul B.
[Moved from: Windows / Windows 10 / Security & privacy]
Windows for home | Windows 10 | Sleep and Power on, off
Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.
45 answers
Sort by: Oldest
-
Anonymous
2018-01-24T21:27:38+00:00 -
Anonymous
2018-01-25T20:56:43+00:00 Hi,
Configuration settings may be the possible reason why you're computer shutdowns when your application also closes. To assist you better, kindly answer the following questions:
- Have you made any recent changes prior to this issue?
- Does this happen with Chrome application only or with other application also?
- Have you tried the suggestion shared by PCR Just PCR?
We're looking forward to your response.
-
Anonymous
2018-01-25T22:17:46+00:00 Thank you 'PCR just PCR', appreciate the effort in your reply. Unfortunately, this has not resolved the problem.
I have three laptop PCs running Windows 10, Version 1709, Build 16299.192.
ALL three exhibit exactly the same behaviour.
A reminder of the problem:
If User A is logged in and does a normal 'Shutdown' from the start menu, the PC shuts down. When restarted and User B logs in, the start menu 'user' icon shows that 'User A logged on'. If User B tries to shutdown the PC, a dialogue box pops up to say 'other users are logged in, are you sure you want to shutdown, work may be lost' (or to that effect, you know the message!).
The 'Fast Startup' on/off made no difference to this issue I'm afraid.
"Why is this a problem?" several people have asked. It's a problem because my wife and I share a laptop and my children share a laptop. My children do not know each other's passwords, so cannot log in as each other, to then log out and shut down. OK, my wife and I can do this, but it's a pain and a waste of our time.
Work around? Yes, but again, it's a nuisance...
Every time you want to shut a PC down, you must first log off from the Start Menu. Get back to the main login screen, then click on the desktop until the Power button icon appears in the bottom right hand corner, then click shutdown. The PC then shuts down with nobody logged in.
What was wrong with the way it worked in Windows 7? I know Windows 10 is a new revision of code, but surely the 'shut down' feature didn't have to undergo this alteration? If this is a new feature, fine, I can see many people wanting it, but give us the option to toggle it on/off as per our individual circumstances.
How is this going to work in a corporate environment where a single laptop may be shared by many users?
Given that this is happening EVERY time on ALL three laptops, this is a designed feature, not a fault or error or intermittent issue. Just want to switch it off...
-
Anonymous
2018-01-26T08:40:35+00:00 I don't suffer & can't test the issue because I've only got one user account. But I agree with all you said. It is a pain to sign-out & then shut down. It appears to be a new feature (reading the TenForums article) - not really that sign-out shouldn't occur - but that auto-sign-in occurs at restart. Therefore, I find it confusing that even your work-around does work. Anyway...
(1) What G.M.P.van Dam said...
Turn On or Off Use sign-in info to auto finish setting up device after update or restart in Windows 10
(a) "START, Settings, Accounts, Sign-In Options".
(b) Turn OFF "Use my sign-in info...".
Mine is ON by default. Apparently, it is meant to make it easy to complete an install. The reboot automatically will do a sign-in & leave one at a lock screen. (There, one must sign-in anyway, but, I guess that could be turned OFF.)
(2) Alternatively, since your work-around does work...
(a) Right-Click START, & select "Windows Powershell (Admin)" or "Command Prompt (Admin)".
(b) Type "Shutdown /S", & hit ENTER.
That's a DOS shutdown. It puts up a big, red requestor that sign-out will occur. In a few moments, the computer does shut down. If that works - without having done (1) - then a small .bat file can be put on the Desktop to click for a sign-out plus shutdown. And you'll still have the new feature for use when completing an update or install.
-
Anonymous
2018-02-02T18:10:51+00:00 That option does not exist in my system win 10 pro. I have the same issue. This seems characteristic of MS - make things more burdensome for users and give them no way to opt out. Another example: Office 365 sign in used to be one step, now it's 2. Same thiong as going from a single stage logout/shutdown to a two step one. They do not seem to realize that this is counterproductive and going the wrong way. They also do not seem to care about their customers and what they want. It is typical of someone in what amounts to a monopoly position - they just do what they want regardless of what their customers want.
Reduced control by the user, more control by MS. Remember XP? It was a pretty good system, so they brought out Vista. Nobody asked for it, and it was no good. They fixed it up getting rid of most of the problems and rebranded it as Win 7. That wasn't too bad, but if you recall folks held on to XP as long as they could, indeed many still use it. Same thing is happening with & so they put a feature in win update so it won't update 7 with 7 gen intels in them. Again, forcing people off a better system into one not as good.
Every time I turn around I find another feature that I don't like and can't get rid of.