Windows 10 - Shutdown, but user stays logged in

Anonymous
2017-10-26T11:43:26+00:00

When I shutdown Windows 10, (latest version, fully patched up to date 25-Oct-2017), I find that it shuts down without issue. However, when the PC is restarted, the last logged in user (who initiated the shut down) is still logged in. 

I noticed this when I shutdown as User 1, then restarted the PC and logged in as User 2. When viewing the 'profiles' button at the top of the Start Menu, (which shows your user picture), it showed me that User 1 was still logged in. Furthermore, when I went to shut the computer down as User 2, it warned me that other users were logged in to this computer. I had to log out as User 2 and login as User 1 to shut down the computer. 

The only way around this is to log out and then shut the PC down from the main login screen. All my users have complex passwords assigned and in all other aspects Windows 10 appears to be working correctly. 

I assume this is a feature, but is there a switch or a registry hack that allows the shut down process to log off the current user, like Windows 7 used to?

Please can someone advise? 

Many thanks 

Paul B.

[Moved from: Windows / Windows 10 / Security & privacy]

Windows for home | Windows 10 | Sleep and Power on, off

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

45 answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2018-02-27T22:31:40+00:00

    You are welcome - overjoyed to hear it! I too hope it will last for you. Good luck, & keep us informed.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2018-02-27T13:02:34+00:00

    Switch off the "use my sign in info at login" which seems to set it back to require a User to login and the select user option being back.

    Thanks... hopefully this keeps.

    I would turn Fast Startup back on, then, probably. But what about the other possibilities I posted on page 2 of this thread - the Sign-in Options setting & the DOS shutdown?

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2018-02-27T12:19:40+00:00

    This is exactly the same issue I have, with the suggested solution not working.

    Thank you 'PCR just PCR', appreciate the effort in your reply. Unfortunately, this has not resolved the problem.

    I have three laptop PCs running Windows 10, Version 1709, Build 16299.192.

    ALL three exhibit exactly the same behaviour.

    A reminder of the problem:

    If User A is logged in and does a normal 'Shutdown' from the start menu, the PC shuts down. When restarted and User B logs in, the start menu 'user' icon shows that 'User A logged on'. If User B tries to shutdown the PC, a dialogue box pops up to say 'other users are logged in, are you sure you want to shutdown, work may be lost' (or to that effect, you know the message!).

    The 'Fast Startup' on/off made no difference to this issue I'm afraid.

    "Why is this a problem?" several people have asked. It's a problem because my wife and I share a laptop and my children share a laptop. My children do not know each other's passwords, so cannot log in as each other, to then log out and shut down. OK, my wife and I can do this, but it's a pain and a waste of our time.

    Work around? Yes, but again, it's a nuisance...

    Every time you want to shut a PC down, you must first log off from the Start Menu. Get back to the main login screen, then click on the desktop until the Power button icon appears in the bottom right hand corner, then click shutdown. The PC then shuts down with nobody logged in. 

    What was wrong with the way it worked in Windows 7? I know Windows 10 is a new revision of code, but surely the 'shut down' feature didn't have to undergo this alteration? If this is a new feature, fine, I can see many people wanting it, but give us the option to toggle it on/off as per our individual circumstances.

    How is this going to work in a corporate environment where a single laptop may be shared by many users?

    Given that this is happening EVERY time on ALL three laptops, this is a designed feature, not a fault or error or intermittent issue. Just want to switch it off...

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2018-02-27T10:32:45+00:00

    Hi,

    I am aware of this, but these are not lies:

    • yes, you can uninstall OneDrive, but the entry in explorer remains and cannot be removed, taking up valuable screen estate. That is clearly a blatant oversight!
    • similarly for Quickacces, you can turn it off, but you need to modify the registry to remove it completely from explorer. Besides being very user-unfriendly, this also caused problems for non-adminstration users on my computers, with explorer not starting up properly anymore.

    I think this again proves the point made in this thread!

    Yves

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  5. Deleted

    This answer has been deleted due to a violation of our Code of Conduct. The answer was manually reported or identified through automated detection before action was taken. Please refer to our Code of Conduct for more information.


    Comments have been turned off. Learn more