Windows 10 - Shutdown, but user stays logged in

Anonymous
2017-10-26T11:43:26+00:00

When I shutdown Windows 10, (latest version, fully patched up to date 25-Oct-2017), I find that it shuts down without issue. However, when the PC is restarted, the last logged in user (who initiated the shut down) is still logged in. 

I noticed this when I shutdown as User 1, then restarted the PC and logged in as User 2. When viewing the 'profiles' button at the top of the Start Menu, (which shows your user picture), it showed me that User 1 was still logged in. Furthermore, when I went to shut the computer down as User 2, it warned me that other users were logged in to this computer. I had to log out as User 2 and login as User 1 to shut down the computer. 

The only way around this is to log out and then shut the PC down from the main login screen. All my users have complex passwords assigned and in all other aspects Windows 10 appears to be working correctly. 

I assume this is a feature, but is there a switch or a registry hack that allows the shut down process to log off the current user, like Windows 7 used to?

Please can someone advise? 

Many thanks 

Paul B.

[Moved from: Windows / Windows 10 / Security & privacy]

Windows for home | Windows 10 | Sleep and Power on, off

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

45 answers

Sort by: Most helpful
  1. Anonymous
    2018-05-20T00:08:35+00:00

    I'm having the same issue since the last patch of windows 10. I don't like it. Also, The last browser page that I had open before "signing out" always pops back into existence without me even clicking the icon. It slows down the start up and it's getting on my nerves. I want to log out, as in "I'm done here, please close everything out so the next person can use it," instead of running somewhere far in the background and eating up memory. 

    Agreed. Likewise the points made by  YvesVander Haeghen replied on   February 26, 2018

    I think the root cause of this is MS automatic updates with system initiated reboots, which of course in principle are good idea in making sure security holes get plugged automatically and promptly. However the resultant reboot has obviously irritated some users, so MS have implemented the switch

    to mitigate. This has the unforeseen side effect we all find so annoying .

    Microsoft efforts at improving the user experience seems to be at the expense of reduced user control and irritating existing users; to put it another way they're "dumbing down Windows" to suit the needs of new (inexperienced) users. That is an "epic fail" as windows is a mature OS and the number of new users in comparison with existing users is tiny (and always will be if Windows remains popular); moreover, being a "new user" is only a temporary condition, whereas being (or becoming) an existing user is enduring. Microsoft, time for a philosophical rethink; look after your existing users in their millions, not the minority of new users who remain "new" only for a few weeks.

    Was this answer helpful?

    8 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2018-01-25T22:17:46+00:00

    Thank you 'PCR just PCR', appreciate the effort in your reply. Unfortunately, this has not resolved the problem.

    I have three laptop PCs running Windows 10, Version 1709, Build 16299.192.

    ALL three exhibit exactly the same behaviour.

    A reminder of the problem:

    If User A is logged in and does a normal 'Shutdown' from the start menu, the PC shuts down. When restarted and User B logs in, the start menu 'user' icon shows that 'User A logged on'. If User B tries to shutdown the PC, a dialogue box pops up to say 'other users are logged in, are you sure you want to shutdown, work may be lost' (or to that effect, you know the message!).

    The 'Fast Startup' on/off made no difference to this issue I'm afraid.

    "Why is this a problem?" several people have asked. It's a problem because my wife and I share a laptop and my children share a laptop. My children do not know each other's passwords, so cannot log in as each other, to then log out and shut down. OK, my wife and I can do this, but it's a pain and a waste of our time.

    Work around? Yes, but again, it's a nuisance...

    Every time you want to shut a PC down, you must first log off from the Start Menu. Get back to the main login screen, then click on the desktop until the Power button icon appears in the bottom right hand corner, then click shutdown. The PC then shuts down with nobody logged in. 

    What was wrong with the way it worked in Windows 7? I know Windows 10 is a new revision of code, but surely the 'shut down' feature didn't have to undergo this alteration? If this is a new feature, fine, I can see many people wanting it, but give us the option to toggle it on/off as per our individual circumstances.

    How is this going to work in a corporate environment where a single laptop may be shared by many users?

    Given that this is happening EVERY time on ALL three laptops, this is a designed feature, not a fault or error or intermittent issue. Just want to switch it off...

    Was this answer helpful?

    7 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2017-10-26T17:12:49+00:00

    Hi Paul,

    For us to better know your concern, we'd like to ask some information.

    • When did the issue start?
    • Have you tried vice versa, like signing in user 2 first and still having the same issue?

    Hope to hear from you soon.

    Was this answer helpful?

    7 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2017-11-04T12:41:53+00:00

    Not sure where you're looking for 'Fast Startup', cannot find that setting.

    I use Hibernation, so do not want to disable it.

    The reason I care is that there are different users on the laptop, so if person 1 uses it and shuts down when finished, then person 2 starts up and logins, when person 2 wants to shutdown they can't, as they are advised that "other users are logged in", i.e. person 1.

    So, yes this is a pain.

    Was this answer helpful?

    6 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments
  5. Anonymous
    2018-04-04T17:28:55+00:00

    Actually let me be even clearer about this. When I shut down my computer I want everyone and everything to be logged out !

    If this is not going to be the default behaviour then I want it as an easy to set option.

    Was this answer helpful?

    5 people found this answer helpful.
    0 comments No comments