Windows Live Mail 2012 not Blocking Hotmail Images

Anonymous
2013-03-22T17:45:35+00:00

Hi everyone, I've been running Windows 8 Enterprise with Windows Live Mail 2012 since the fall.  I have Windows Live Mail configured for 13 email accounts - most are IMAP accounts, a couple Yahoo! accounts, a GMail account, and a Hotmail account (@hotmail.com).  I have "Block images and other external content in HTML email" checked in the Safety Options on the Security tab.  It works exactly the way it should so I get an email with images and they're blocked unless I click "Show images" on the message or if they are already in my Safe Senders list.

However, this works for all my accounts in Live Mail except my Hotmail account.  For some reason ALL images just show up and are not blocked.  Most of these are spam, so this is really bad because of the potential of web beacons letting the spammers know that the address is legit.  I can't figure out what's going on with this.  I had cleared all my Safe Senders to start from scratch just in case that was the issue, but it made no difference.

If I log into the Hotmail website (or Outlook.com), the option for "Block attachments, pictures, and links for anyone not in my safe senders list" is checked and the same messages that are showing images in Windows Live Mail are being correctly blocked on the websites.

So the problem has to be something on the Windows Live Mail client specific to Hotmail accounts (or at least mine), but I'm just not sure where to go next.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,

-- Jim

Windows for home | Other | Email and communications

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments

49 answers

Sort by: Newest
  1. Anonymous
    2013-12-29T21:16:34+00:00

    Hi san diego23,

    Thank you for your patience while waiting for updates.

    Our support specialist determined that you have already created a thread with a similar inquiry. We suggest that you respond to this threadyou have made to avoid confusion.

    Thank you for your cooperation.

    Regards,

    Abigail

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  2. Anonymous
    2013-12-06T03:10:35+00:00

    Hi san diego23,

    Welcome to Microsoft Community forum!

    First of all, please accept my apologies for not being able to respond to your query in a timely manner.

    From what you've told us, you're also encountering the same issue and incoming emails were automatically redirected to your Windows Live Mail's Junk folder.

    I will now forward this to our Support Specialists for them to conduct a thorough investigation regarding this matter. To set your expectation, there's no definite time frame for this to be resolved but rest assured that they're working on to get this fixed as soon as possible so we appreciate your continued patience and understanding on this matter.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  3. Anonymous
    2013-11-29T16:00:26+00:00

    Hi HOTMAIL TEAM,

      me too facing same problem it says

    This message is in your junk folder because you don't seem to want mail from this sender.

    it means IP is inbox -- but not coming in inbox..... ???

    Can you please suggest what we need to do to reach same IP into Inbox ???

    V=1.1;us=0;l=0;a=0;D=2;GD=1;SCL=0

    Hi Amol,

    I'm sorry to inform you that this information is not known, nor will it be released to us.

    Best regards,

    Ron - Senior Support Specialist

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  4. Anonymous
    2013-11-15T18:51:29+00:00

    Hi Amol,

    I'm sorry to inform you that this information is not known, nor will it be released to us.

    Best regards,

    Ron - Senior Support Specialist

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments
  5. Anonymous
    2013-11-07T14:54:44+00:00

    V=1.1;us=0;l=1;a=1;D=2;GD=1;SCL=0   Can you tell me why this mail is in JUNk folder. As I have observedX-Message-Delivery values: V=1.1;us=0;l=1;a=1;D=1;GD=1;SCL=0  it will be always inbox. But I am getting some  mails in Junk. which is having D=2. Do you have any Idea what 'D' is stands for?Thank YouAmol

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments