I was able to get rid of the button like this:
- Open RegEdit
- Go to HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\StorageProvider\OneDrive
- Remove or rename the key StorageProviderKnownFolderSyncInfoSourceFactory
- Restart Windows Explorer
This browser is no longer supported.
Upgrade to Microsoft Edge to take advantage of the latest features, security updates, and technical support.
Hello,
In the latest release of Windows Insider Home Preview (I have an option everywhere I go in file explorer to "Start Back Up", clicking on it leads me to the onedrive dialogue to back up folders. This is incredibly annoying and I cannot find out how to disable it, even though all my backup features are off.
How can I disable this?
(Preview build 23481)
Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.
I was able to get rid of the button like this:
I was able to get rid of the button like this:
- Open RegEdit
- Go to HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\StorageProvider\OneDrive
- Remove or rename the key StorageProviderKnownFolderSyncInfoSourceFactory
- Restart Windows Explorer
๐๐๐ - THANK YOU!!!
Two things I would suggest however:
I was able to get rid of the button like this:
- Open RegEdit
- Go to HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\StorageProvider\OneDrive
- Remove or rename the key StorageProviderKnownFolderSyncInfoSourceFactory
- Restart Windows Explorer
It appears to work for me.
I did have to decipher HKCU as HKEY_CURRENT_USER and carefully navigate down the tree to the key location, identify the key (is was the only one for OneDrive, and I renamed it RevokeStorageProviderKnownFolderSyncInfoSourceFactory
Closed RegEdit
Opening Explorer, all of the folder addresses I checked appear to be correct without the prompt to backup to OneDrive.
Thank you very much.
I cannot express my joy enough for you finding this: thank you so much!
Going to the original question, I never see it. I don't know if it is because I keep the link always active, phone link, as a second factor Google verification, so once checked in, and as long as I always enter my pin if it's needed, then, my back up goes auto, when whenever it needs to and I am not using too much of the PC, but those were also options I choose myself